My Juneathon challenge

I went a little mad in Janathon.  After an icy Christmas with very little running and even less running enthusiasm, I played catch up early in the new year and found myself hovering at around 5th place on the table of doom.  Which started me thinking about what I could achieve.  The answer:  four 50 mile weeks in a row, and my highest mileage month ever.

Rolling mileage

Rolling mileage of a sloth

I’d be tempted to try something similar again for Juneathon, but with exams and assignment deadlines, it’s simply not feasible. So instead, I am trying something a little different.

Cross training.

Specifically an alternating mixture of lower body work, upper body work, core work, cardio work and jumping.

I think it might just kill me.  Certainly after one session of the jumping, I have worse DOMS than after my 50 miler.  Despite only managing about one tenth of the suggested programme.  June could be a loooooooong month!

 

 

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in janathon, juneathon, running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My Juneathon challenge

  1. kimivory says:

    Good idea, but what exactly does the jumping involve?

    • abradypus says:

      Squat jumps, slalom jumps, tuck jumps, hopping on one leg. Basically lots of different ways to get you from down to up and off the ground in one fluid* movement.

      *In theory. In practice, fluid is not a description you would use.

  2. Shaz says:

    Mmm sounds too difficult for my bladder! Good luck with that, think I would prefer the ultra training!

    • abradypus says:

      At the moment I *definitely* prefer the ultra training. But I’m hoping that the jumping helps me to discover a little bit of inner mountain goat – something that could be useful on my trail runs.

  3. zoeforman says:

    My Juneathon will be a mixture of swim, bike & run as part of my tri training. Good luck & have fun. Daily blogging harder than our 3 per week Write this Run recommendation. Need to be creative & catchy.

  4. plustenner says:

    I like the sound of your challenge! Jumping sounds good,I may give it a try, especially as hubby has bought a mini trampoline 🙂

  5. fortnightflo says:

    Jumping and fluid are two words that will NEVER be used in the same sentence when describing any action I do! Good luck.

  6. Katrina says:

    Nasty American woman like lots of jumping. I look like an unset jelly trying to emulate her. Jumping is not good when you have more fat rolls than chins!!! Good luck with the jumping xx

Leave a Reply

