The Windmile

One of these days I will run a 7:38 minute mile*, but not today.

Today I ran a 7:51 min mile**, and I should be pleased, but I feel unbelievably slow.  Being left for dust by wiry vintage club runners is disheartening.

I know that comparisons are odious and that wiry vintage club runners usually have a 5 min mile somewhere in their dim and distant past.  I know that this time last year I would have bitten your hand off if you’d offered me a 7:51 min mile.  I know that the focus of my recent training has been endurance not speed.

But tonight, none of that helps.  So I’m off to find some emergency cute stuff to cheer me up.  Stuff like this:

Image from mousebreath.com

Image from mousebreath.com***

*Yes, there is a reason for picking this time.  No, I am not sharing it.

**According to my watch.  According to the provisional results, it wasn’t even sub-8.  Slow, slow, slow, slow, slow!

***Mousebreath.com

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in juneathon, windmilers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Windmile

  1. paulkdesigner says:

    Sometimes slow is good, it reminds us that we we also run fast, I sometimes still line up on a track when nobody is there and run the 100 metres hoping to get near my best of 11.2 seconds, but 20 years have passed and I’m happy with what I do. So when you next see a crusty old vintage runner striding past just remember they’ve probably never run an ultra and you are amazing!

  2. blackandtabby says:

    Often we are our own harshest critics. I’m running faster than ever before, but am still slow and still beat myself up about it. You obviously have a secret goal – keep on training for it and just keep putting one foot in front of tehother 9a little faster)!

  3. ewoodeson says:

    One day you will get that 7.38, and it might be on a day when you felt you were going slowly, or it might be on a day when you felt you were going fast, but whenever it is, and however you feel at the time, when you reach it you will have an enormous sense of satisfaction for having reached your goal and all those sessions where it didn’t quite fall into place and you ran 7.51 will have meant something and that will be a happy day. In the mean time, if the fluffy bunnies don’t cheer you up, surely chocolate will?

  4. zoeforman says:

    It took me a few years of running to realise I was more of an endurance than speed runner. Whilst I’ll never get anywhere near 7:30 min/mile I have finished 3 marathon and spent 3 to 6 hours in triathlon races, 12 hour in adventure races and competed in 24 hour relays.
    Speed is not everything.
    Do what you enjoy and what your good at.

  5. plustenner says:

    sub 8 minute mile is absolutely awesome!!! you will get that 7:38 for sure, on a day when you least expect it 🙂

  6. Katie says:

    Of course you will get the 7.38 or even below and it’s very possible that it’ll be unexpected..
    My fastest mile is 7.50 but I’ve not managed that again since, just the odd 8’s and mainly 9’s but hey I’m happy and doing what I enjoy.
    People may coo at crazed speeds but endurance really is something worth being proud of as it takes a different kind of effort/training 🙂

Leave a Reply

