Brain gym

No, not the “teacher-led physical exercises which are claimed to improve the cognitive abilities of primary school children” but a day filled with exam revision and the obligatory Juneathon exercise.

The revision is going quite well, though my integration by substitution remains stubbornly flaky and group theory makes my head explode*.

The Juneathon exercise was a fitness test, and the numbers are improving.  I still can’t do push ups for love nor money, but my squat jumps are improving in leaps and bounds**.

I’ve also started to feel happier about yesterday’s mile.  Looking back at my split times, I’ve only managed a 7:50 ish mile split once before and that was on tarmac while being paced by the speed queen herself, Fairweather Runner.

So ignore yesterday’s moaning.  I take it all back.  I ran an unaided 7:51 minute mile on a dusty trail.  I rock!***

*Not literally.

**Bad pun intended.

***I’m not sure which is worse – moaning me or cat-that-got-the-cream me.  Normal service, aka a parkrun review, will resume tomorrow.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in juneathon, running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Brain gym

  1. Can we have a creamy moaner version of you that likes to moan about your success?

  2. On reflection the phrase ‘creamy moaner’ seems inappropriate, sorry lol

  3. Speed Queen? Cough cough… Well maybe for a middle aged fairweatherrunner!

  4. plustenner says:

    you should definitely be cat-that-got-the cream, Ultra Lady 🙂 good luck with the revision!

  5. ewoodeson says:

    The funny thing I was standing on my chair making my Year 10 students touch their left knee to their right elbow etc… only yesterday. It might not have woken their brains up, but at least it made them laugh!

  6. Helen says:

    You do rock and you are also getting very speedy!

Leave a Reply

