Will I ever learn?

The more I think about it, the more I realise that I am an idiot.

I have, potentially, lost two weeks of training and jeopardised an A race to prove that I can run 35km in one day.  Something that I already knew.

I think a mantra may be in order.  Something along the lines of:

Training is a means to an end

If you have any less clichéd suggestions, I’m all ears.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in juneathon and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Will I ever learn?

  1. shazruns says:

    Hey we all make mistakes even those who were a long while ago sloths! Mend fast, train gentle, RICE lots

  2. jensruns2011 says:

    Oh no! Hope your foot mends quickly and that you’re not out of action for too long.

  3. paulkdesigner says:

    We both know that an injury can happen at any time and you shouldn’t beat yourself up about these things. I know if I’ve been stupid and been running too much before a much wanted race I simply take a few days off and then turn up on race day and hope for the best, usually loaded with ibuprofen and various icing agents. We can’t help but push ourselves, regardless of the cost but you will recover and you will be fine. Allowing yourself to be critical of the choices you made will not benefit you. Remember you are an excellent and inspirational runner and yes training is a means to an end BUT without the training there are no races. Congratulate yourself on 35km achieved and prepare sensibly for your next challenge.

    • abradypus says:

      Thank you. I’m not, I promise, beating myself up over my decision, which is done and dusted. I’m merely trying to make sure that next time I find myself thinking “I will finish this despite my worsening [insert body part here]” I will take a little time to consider whether a tactical retreat would be better in the long run.

      • paulkdesigner says:

        Tactical retreat? lol what’s one of them? Glad you’ve got a plan for the future though, I shall be watching with interest to see how a retreat goes, I could do with learning that trick!

  4. Cassie says:

    I favour ‘don’t do anything bloody stupid’.

  5. Oh no. What race? We all do it. Enjoying yourself it’s hard to pull up and stop before you finish. Hope injuruy is short lived.

Leave a Reply

