A glimmer of hope

Two weeks ago, I walked Walthamstow parkrun.  That afternoon, my foot told me in no uncertain terms that I had not been ready, and the upshot was an instruction from the physio to rest for a further two weeks before trying again.

On Saturday, I walked Southwark parkrun.  That afternoon, I waited for my foot to complain, but it remained quiet.  The silence continued into Sunday, and today, when I called the physio to update him, he said I could run again.

Well, that’s not strictly true.  He actually said that I could try another walk tomorrow, and if that didn’t cause any problems, a third walk on Thursday.  And then, if and only if there was no pain, I could add a teeny tiny bit of running into my next walk on Saturday.

Apparently, patience is still the order of the day.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in injury and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A glimmer of hope

  1. shazruns says:

    What a coincidence that you can next run on a Saturday, now the hardest part, where will that walk/run be?

  2. Good for you. Queen of self control.

    I hate being patient!

    I played tennis for an hour today.

    I hate being A patient.

  3. Lucy says:

    Getting there – keep it slow and steady!

  4. Sarah F says:

    On the road to recovery! Hooray!

Leave a Reply

