A vague sense of unease

I really, really want my foot to be healed.  I thought it was.  I walked on it.  It seemed fine.  I ran on it.  It seemed fine.  And it didn’t hurt.  Not really.  Not enough to stop me running on it in any case.

But every time I tried to say it was healed, I stopped.  I could say “It’s healing” or “It’s much better than it was” or  “Running doesn’t seem to be making it worse.” but not “It’s healed” or “It’s fine” or “Long runs, here I come.”  And every time I went for a run, I waited for the pain, for the Sword of Damocles to fall.  And, when it came down to it, the only statement that I could make about my foot was this:

I still know which foot is injured.

So I took myself back to the physio.  He has given me two choices.  He says that I can continue to run on it, on the basis that a little bit of stress might encourage it to heal, or I can rest a little longer and let it finish healing in peace.

I’ll be honest.  I am drawn to option one.  I’m only two parkruns away from a global Cowell, and only five away from my UK Cowell*.  But if it goes wrong and that sword does fall then I’ll be out of action again and might end up missing South Downs Way 50 in April and Thames Path 100 in May.

So I’ve chosen option two.  I am going to rest a little bit longer** and wait until my injured foot feels the same as my uninjured foot.  Because even if that takes another two months, I should still be up and running again in time for SDW50.

This had better work!

*I have run at 98 different parkrun venues, and 95 different UK venues.

**With patience and good grace.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in injury, parkrun, running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A vague sense of unease

  1. zoecakes says:

    Very sensible – fingers-crossed option 2 will do the trick!

  2. I swear it’s harder to be smart in these situations because as a runner you just wanna GO!

  3. Wow!
    I admire your restraint*.
    May feet heal quickly and minds be strong. Good luck!

    *(…there’s a joke there about a vicar and a prostitute at a fetish club, but I’d probably mess it up if I were to attempt it).

  4. Andy says:

    “**With patience and good grace.”

    Yeah, right! Only if you’ve been swapped out for the Stepford Wives verison of you 😉

    You can still have a supportive hug or two from me though and I’ll try not to stand on your foot while doing it.

  5. mia79gbr says:

    Well done on choosing option 1 … tough choice, especially when you really, really want to run but better to rest now and be able to do everything you want to, than run now and have to pull out of all of the races you’re looking forward to. Hugs and a big “Grrrrrr!” at injury though! Get well soon!!

  6. shazruns says:

    I bet your ‘with patience and good grace’ different from anybody else’s good luck with that.
    Ps I take it you know there’s a inaugural pr in gillingham this weekend?

  7. fortnightflo says:

    Oh I do hope you heal soon. Whilst it was lovely seeing you at the marhsall point on Sunday, it didn’t seem quite right. Once you are back to running I’d love to do your 1st full park run back with you…wherever that takes us!

Leave a Reply

