A marvellous day at Ashford parkrun

I could probably have run* a parkrun today, but as my rehab instructions include being conservative and never finding out exactly what my foot can take, I opted for a second week of inaugural parkrun volunteer tourism**.

There were a few hiccoughs*** but overall, I think it was a reasonable success, and it’s definitely a course that I want to come back to run.  But best of all, there were lots and lots of lovely people.

Including @totkat, running her 50th parkrun one week after running her first 50 miler, who looked disgustingly fresh; Karen Webber, ultra race organiser extraordinaire, whose next project is the Buttons for Brathay running festival (I’ve not yet signed up, but I’m definitely tempted); and (picture me with a teeny tiny case of starstruckness) Mimi Anderson, ultra runner, who arrived over 14 minutes late but finished far from last.

Marvellous!

*run/walked

**it’s a niche hobby

***Sorry, first finisher, sorry, sorry, sorry for giving you duff information about the final little loop.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in parkrun, running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A marvellous day at Ashford parkrun

  1. JovialGnome says:

    Wow! I’d have been starstruck too! Hopefully not much longer before you are able to take part?

  2. plustenner says:

    I would have too! was starstruck when I saw Robbie Britton, but Mimi! wow.. When you go run Ashford I will join you x

  3. Great blog! Lovely to meet you yesterday – and see your starstruckness as Mimi bounced by 🙂

  4. TOTKat says:

    It was indeed a Marvellous day! Good to see you again; shame I couldn’t stay and chat as I had to go pick up my new bike in Eastbourne. Next time!

  5. zoecakes says:

    Another inaugural parkrun we were sad to miss 😦
    You are definitely getting around with your volunteer tourism! 🙂

  6. Pingback: Ashford parkrun and Buttons for Brathay 10k | abradypus

Leave a Reply

