Gazing at my naval

Next year is going to be hectic.  I have a new job with a very steep learning curve, an open university module with weekly tutorials and monthly assignments and my first 100 mile race to train for.  Then there are my two non-negotiables, parkrun tourism and my weekly lunch date with my mother, both of which bring me huge amounts of pleasure and neither of which I want to give up, and a recently rediscovered love of choral singing which I want to indulge.  Add to these things the fact that I am someone who needs copious amounts of quiet time to replenish my energy stocks and you may understand why I’m sitting here wondering if I have bitten off rather more than I can chew.

One solution would be to find ways to double up.  I used to be able to fit running into my daily commute, so weekday training pretty much took care of itself.  Unfortunately, my new job is further from home, and I’ve yet to work out a way to add running into the mix.  Similarly my OU study could, in theory, be done on the train, but in practice, I need peace, quiet and space to spread out, which doesn’t sound particularly compatible with rush hour travel.

So I suspect what it will come down to is curtailing my down time – the hours and hours that I spend each week on the sofa with the cat just being – and if that doesn’t work, considering ditching the tourism and settling for straight-up parkrunning with the occasional inaugural treat.

Wish me luck!

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in parkrun, running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Gazing at my naval

  1. Wow! Hectic indeed. Absolutely good luck.

    I don’t suppose your mum fancies running 100 miles does she? That could solve a few issues.

    P.S. a very Happy Christmas to you x

  2. Chrisruns180 says:

    Would you be able to do a run at lunch. We have a group and usually a few get out, supplements the longer runs, good luck!

  3. plustenner says:

    you need one of those time turning thingies Hermione used in Harry Potter 🙂 when does the module finish? why not aim for one of the later in the year 100 milers?

    • abradypus says:

      I’m not sure it would make any difference. The job and OU will still be factors then. And besides, I want to have run my first, so that I can get on with my second!

  4. shazruns says:

    Wow am tired now after reading all that, enjoy working out how to fit it all in!

  5. blackandtabby says:

    What an exciting year you have coming up! Often the hardest part of new challenges is having to give up some old habits to make space and time for the new stuff. Best of luck with everything!

Leave a Reply

