Thank you (but only in retrospect)

Today I had a severe case of the CBAs (or, should my mother be reading, the CBBs*).

Getting out the door was easy.  Getting out of my car was not.  I sat in the car park** for five minutes, watching cyclists and small children being flung hither, thither and yon by the winds and the run gradually shrank from the 70 minutes in my plan to tomorrow’s 3 miler to maybe I’ll skip today and run tomorrow.  Eventually, I decided to close my eyes for a few minutes to see if inspiration struck me.

I’d just drifted off to sleep when there was a car-shuddering thud.  Eeek!  What was that?  Ah – the eight-year-old in the car next to me opening her door straight into my car.  I glared, leapt out of the car to check for damage, glared some more, changed my shoes, glared a final time and plodded off for my run.

It turned out to be a keeper.  Yes, I was rueing my waterproof for the first half mile, but it was a godsend at mile two when the heavens opened.  Yes, there was a vicious head wind for parts of the route, but it was at least polite enough to be a tail wind from time to time as well***.  Yes, there was thunder and lightening, but there was also blue sky and sunshine by the end.

So, thank you, over-enthusiastic eight-year-old, for slamming your car door into my car.  The adrenaline rush counteracted my inertia and set me on my way to my speediest eight mile run since my injury.  And from a starting point of *really* *really* CBA, I ended up at pleasantly satisfied.

And I even remembered to foam roll once I got home.

Result!

 

*CBB – Can’t Be Bothered

**Or for the pedantic among you, I sat in my car, in the car park.

***It’s amazing how many out and back runs feature a head wind in both directions.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in janathon, running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Thank you (but only in retrospect)

  1. fitfor365 says:

    If you get another bout of CBA or CBB try JFDI

  2. JogBlog says:

    “It’s amazing how many out and back runs feature a head wind in both directions.”

    I’ve noticed this, too. How can that be fair?

  3. MovingAlong says:

    Every time I cycle I end up with that headwind. I’ve even had it when riding a circular route.

    Well done on getting out there – bit miserable today!

  4. I thought all out and back anything had both head and crosswinds in all directions at all times you are moving? Bloody nuisance this exercise thing! Good work on getting out there though

  5. Sharon says:

    So early in Janathon for CBA syndrome hope you are taking something for it?

  6. runtezza says:

    Keep up the good work — the apparent headwind may have been the result of excess speed!

  7. mercyjm says:

    I am the Queen of CBA and I have a JFDI wristband, I just look at it tiredly. Excellent post, made me feel very me-too! all the way.

  8. winsometahn says:

    Ooh, foam rolling, thanks for the reminder! And well done on getting past the CBAs.

  9. plustenner says:

    is there any connection between the 8 year old and your mileage? Just as well it wasn’t a 21 year old 😛

  10. Tubontherun says:

    Nice one – on the recovery from the CBAs, the speed AND the foam rolling!

  11. Well done for battling the CBA disease and the weather. I feel brrr just reading that. Maybe if cars didn’t have heaters it would be easier

  12. jensruns2011 says:

    Well done today – great run and in such awful conditions 🙂

  13. henniemavis says:

    Wait a minute… didn’t I read in your initial post that you wouldn’t be running this Janathon? Must backread… maybe you just said not every day. Nevermind wind & rain, I was holding my breath that you won’t reinjure!

    • abradypus says:

      Oh, I’ll be running. But my Janathon “do something challenging that you wouldn’t otherwise do” thing is not focussing on running, as that is taken care of with my training plan and will happen whether I Janathon or not.

  14. Norm says:

    These are the days that make you stronger – winners are made in winter! (and all that stuff, etc)

Leave a Reply

