Rest and rolling

I’m beginning to get the hang of foam rolling.  When I started, it was so painful that I couldn’t manage more than about thirty seconds, but now I’ve started to wonder whether I need to invest in a knobblier foam roller because my entry level basic one is feeling positively benign.

The trouble is, which torture device to go for?  The Beast?  The Grid?  The Trigger Point Performance Grid V2?  The Vari-Massage?  The Rumble Roller?  Or perhaps just a bit of PVC pipe.  There’s so much choice that I can’t decide.  Maybe I’ll stick with my existing one after all.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in janathon and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rest and rolling

  1. Never done it. Don’t get it to be honest.
    I am notmuchofarunner after all.

    (They all look like they have been purchased from an Ann Summers shop too, don’t they?)

  2. What I mean to say is… Does it actually do anything? Is it just like having a massage? Does it work?

    • abradypus says:

      I’m inclined to think that it works in the same way as sacrificing to the gods. If you don’t get injured, it’s because of the foam rolling. If you do get injured, it’s because you didn’t roll enough / the right way.

      I have noticed that it gets easier, it’s about the only core work I do, and it appears in my training plan and I like to follow that as far as possible. On the basis that it’s neutral at worst and useful at best, I’ll do it.

Leave a Reply

