Let’s do the time warp again

Last night’s session was mile splits.  As I’m tapering, there were only two repeats, so the session was essentially slow mile, fast mile, slow mile, fast mile, done.  As I’m stressed, my brain was fizzing, and its topic of choice last night was the way in which running warps time.  Measured by GPS, all the splits are even.  Measured by time, splits 1 and 3 are long and splits 2 and 4 are short.

But measured by perceived length…well, that’s a different matter entirely.

Split 1

Split 2

Split 3

Split 4

Distance

A mile

A mile

A mile

A mile

Real Time

Long

Short

Long

Short

Perceived length

Middling

Long

Short

Never ending

Anyway.  Janathon is over.  I didn’t run every day, but then I didn’t set out to.  I have done more lunging, squatting, balancing and foam rolling than I care to think about and have clocked up a respectable 150 miles as part of my usual running training.  I’ve read more blogs than I can remember, still have a backlog of about 300 to clear and have added some more names to my list of virtual running friends.

I’ll be back for Juneathon, but in the meantime, expect the odd parkrun review, an occasional rant and, if all goes to plan, reports on an ultra or three.

And if you ever fancy meeting up for a parkrun, just let me know!

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in janathon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Let’s do the time warp again

  1. Shaz says:

    Ultra or three? Omg

  2. winsometahn says:

    Well done on your impressive mileage and good luck with the ultras.

  3. plustenner says:

    looking forward to pootling around a (no doubt VERY muddy) Banstead Woods with you tomorrow 🙂

  4. fortnightflo says:

    aMAHzing mileage – well done. Glad to see the injury is well and truly behind you.

  5. 🙂

    Good going, that lady.
    And a great janathon table! We’ve not had enough of them this year. Graphs, pie charts… all that. Love it.

  6. Brilliant mileage. Hope today proved you are definitely back!

  7. jensruns2011 says:

    Fantastic mileage! And great efforts on all the foam rolling and other helpful (!) exercises over the course of the month. If you’re ever fancy once of the Cambridge parkruns or the Leamington one, could even stretch to the Coventry one, if I’m at my parents, let me know and if I’m about would be lovely to see you at one of them 🙂

Leave a Reply

