What was I thinking? (featuring Great Cornard parkrun)

After an extremely lazy February, I decided to kick off March with a jaunt to Great Cornard parkrun, and to make sure I didn’t back out, I persuaded Vanessa (@neferpuss) to join me.

I then skim-read the course description,

… school playing field … very flat … almost entirely on grass … short 200m section on a tarmac footpath … rain … slippery … two laps … smaller loop covered twice more … dogs are not allowed …

glanced at the map,

gcparkrun1

scratched my head and decided to trust in the navigational prowess of the person in front.

Despite the slightly strange looking course, it turned out to be extremely simple to follow, thanks to crystal clear signage and the presence of volunteers stationed at each decision point.  It was also, to my delight, far more interesting than I was expecting, and went something like this:

Diagonal, left, diagonal, right, tennis, football, rugby, shot put, long jump, diagonal, left, diagonal, right, tennis, football, rugby, shot put, long jump, finish.

gcparkrun

After all of which, we headed off to the café to catch up with some familiar faces, and where I scared myself rigid with the realisation that if I ran from Great Cornard parkrun to Wimbledon parkrun, I would still be 33 miles short of having run 100 miles.

gc to wimbledon 2

Or to put it another way, in two months time, I am running the equivalent of the distance from Great Cornard parkrun to Wimbledon parkrun and then tagging another ten and a bit parkruns on the end.

WHAT WAS I THINKING?

 

 

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in parkrun, ultra and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What was I thinking? (featuring Great Cornard parkrun)

  1. shazruns says:

    I have often thought what were you thinking when reading your blogs, glad you are now thinking the same!

  2. I always get confused when I look at a route on a map – thankfully I always have plenty of people in front of me that I can follow though. 😉
    Good luck with the 100 miles!

Leave a Reply

