Sheer bloody mindedness vs a monumental aversion to pain

I am bloody minded in the extreme. Tell me I can’t do something that I want to do, and I will do it (unless something more interesting takes my fancy first). Show me an ultra with an all male start list, and it will shoot to the top of my To Do list (for 2016. 2014 and 2015 are already spoken for).

However, I am also a complete wimp when it comes to pain. I don’t like it, I will avoid it wherever possible and rather than soldier on stoically, I will retreat and whimper and tell anyone who’ll listen quite how pitiful I am. And that’s just when I stub my toe.

Thames Path 100 will be the first time that my sheer bloody mindedness and monumental aversion to pain go head to head. I think they’re evenly matched. If anyone has a time machine that will let me sneak a peek into the future to find out which emerges victorious, please let me know. Because the suspense is killing me.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in ultra and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sheer bloody mindedness vs a monumental aversion to pain

  1. shazruns says:

    Can’t see why pain will occur! Have no doubt that on my birthday you will run the 100 miles and to celebrate I will eat a big piece of cake and thing or you (and your poor feet!)
    Go Lousie go.

  2. It’s not bloody mindedness it’s strength of mind. It got you round the last 50 miler and as long as your poor foot isn’t actually broken it will get you round 100. If you’ve any left over some of us could do with a top up occasionally!

  3. plustenner says:

    Judging by how strong you looked at SDW50, I totally believe you can do it! See you at Streatley xxx

  4. JovialGnome says:

    You madam, are quite simply magnificent and that race is toast! Wish I could be there in person but I will be with you in sprit and whilst I am struggling round just a quarter of your distance you will be my inspiration. Good luck superstar! xx

  5. mia79gbr says:

    I feel like that before mine too!! Will I get through this? I can’t see beyond it!! … Am sure you’ll be BRILLIANT by the way!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

