Recovering, one day at a time.

Thames Path 100 broke me, but the body is an amazing contraption with mind-boggling powers of self-repair, and over the ten days it has been gradually putting itself back together again and preparing for the next great adventure.

TP100 +1 – Monday

I couldn’t move.  My left shin looked like it had been beaten, my right knee and right foot were bruised and to cap it all off my eyeballs had gone a fetching shade of yellow.  Lovely!

left shin

right knee

right foot

TP100 +2 – Tuesday – Up and about

I had work.  I had to move.  But with no control over my right leg, I couldn’t drive.  Cue much strapping, my trusty walking stick and a couple of rather interesting hours on rush hour trains getting trodden on because I couldn’t bend my knee to fit it under the table.  On the plus side, I did get to use the phrase “only 85 miles” when explaining my injuries to my colleagues.

TP100 +3 – Wednesday – With bended knee

More rush hour commuting, but this time with bright turquoise crutches, to make it obvious to even the most harried commuter that I would be sloooooooow.  Fortunately by this time my right knee could be bent enough (with assistance, as it still wasn’t doing anything for itself) to fit under the train tables so I didn’t get trodden on.  Much.

TP100 +4 – Thursday – Going up

Still strapped, still hobbling, still slow and still not driving, but I did manage to go up a single flight of stairs with something approaching a normal gait.  Which is all good.

TP100 + 5 – Friday – I have control

Regained enough control over my legs to be able to inspect the bottom of my feet for damage.  Eeeeuuuuwwww!

TP100 +6 – Saturday – Driving along in my automobile

Felt safe enough to drive though alas not to a parkrun.  I’ve only run two parkruns in the last six weeks.  Shocking.

TP100 +7 – Sunday – Upstairs, downstairs

Made my peace with the staircase and celebrated by walking down it with a normal(ish) gait.

TP100 +8 – Monday – Ditched the sticks

Walking gait returned to normal, at least if you discount the first handful of steps after each prolonged pause.

TP100 +9 – Tuesday – Run, hike, run

I lost track of time and found myself running down a flight of stairs and then power-hiking along a corridor so as not to be late.  Couldn’t have done that on Monday!

TP100 +10 – Wednesday – Semi-strapped

I’m still taking the full daily dose of ibuprofen, still waking myself up every time I turn over in bed and still not back to normal, but my left knee is now unstrapped and my right knee may be following suit shortly.  And for the first time since Thames Path, I found myself thinking about going for a run.

The human body really is an amazing contraption with mind-boggling powers of self-repair!

 

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in injury, running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Recovering, one day at a time.

  1. JovialGnome says:

    Not for the first time you amaze me! So glad you are healing again, love the “only 85 miles”! 🙂

  2. plustenner says:

    You are one of the bravest people I know, those pictures brought sympathetic twinges from my knee and leg! So glad you are on the mend. And 85 miles is an amazing achievement – furthest you have ever gone, and it may not be 100 miles, but it is 136km!

  3. shazruns says:

    Glad you on mend, hope you manage parkrun on Saturday

  4. Great to see the after effects! You may have put me off ultras, but isn’t the body a wonderful thing. Glad you are back on your feet wihtout crutches and still having positive running thoughts. I thought of you a lot yesterday I ran through the cheese grater which is where I met you on my very first Windmiler session! 😀

  5. hels205 says:

    Yellow eyeballs!!!! Not something I’d relate to running.
    That word “only” should be replaced with “impressive” 85 miles. That must have been the easiest and hardest decision to quit when you’re that close to the finish. WOW!!!
    Congratulations on completing 85 miles. You’ll bag those last 15 miles another time. A FABULOUS well done to you. WOW!!

  6. mia79gbr says:

    Wow. You are AMAZING! And very artistic bruises!! I hope you’ve been showing them off with your “85 mile” explanation!! 🙂

  7. You are AMAZING and it’s good to hear you’re recovering

  8. kimivory says:

    Jeez Louise, just catching up with my blog reading. This is ghastly! I’m worried about the yellow eyeballs, that’s a sign of liver damage, are they back to normal now? I don’t want to sound like a fusspot but I’d recommend a visit to the Dr. and tell him about that. You are astonishing! Well done xxxxx

    • abradypus says:

      The yellow had gone the following morning, so I’m assuming it was a temporary overload rather than anything more sinister. For once Dr Google did not tell me I was doooooomed!

  9. JogBlog says:

    Ow ow ow! Hope your bruises have faded by now.

Leave a Reply

