All Out of Puff

This morning, my training plan called for an All Out parkrun. Well, technically, it called for an All Out Park Run because I have never managed to convince its author that parkrun is all one word, all lower case. But I digress.

This morning, my training plan called for an All Out parkrun. I’m not fond of All Out, but I am fond of PBs, so I try to pick nice, flat, tarmac courses for my All Out efforts to give me a little bit of incentive.

Unfortunately, other commitments meant that I had only one parkrun option today, namely Tilgate. Don’t get me wrong. I like Tilgate. The course is beautiful and features trees, a lake (which you run around twice), a switchback and very supportive volunteers. But in between the two laps of the lake are The Mountains, which doesn’t make it particularly PB friendly.

So, repeating the mantras “All Out is an effort level not a pace” and “you will not die”, I set about running All Out for 5k.

How did I do? I’m really not sure. I spent a fair amount of the run wanting to ease off but bargaining with myself not to. I tried to attack the ups, I used the downs to overtake rather than recover and I just about managed to hang on for the last lap of the lake.

Was it All Out? I doubt it.

Was it Mostly Out? Yes.

Was it a PB? Don’t make me laugh!

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in juneathon, parkrun and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to All Out of Puff

  1. I like the idea of Mostly Out effort, more training plans should include this.

  2. Helen says:

    It was still a pretty damn good time!

    Plus I am now singing “I’m all out of puffed, I’m so puffed without you, I knew you were strong, running for so long”

  3. winsometahn says:

    I’m yet to be convinced that ‘All Out’ will not result in death (that is the less permanent, feeling like death, death) so I avoid it!

  4. plustenner says:

    well done! if I had known you were going to Tilgate I would have joined you 🙂

  5. Abradysis says:

    It was a PB!

  6. shazruns says:

    Well done on the all out-and the PB!

  7. I like the ‘mostly out’ rating. Might have to try that one.

    I never seem to have much in the way of effort level variation when on a hill – it’s either stop or go for me! Well done for attacking the downhills as well as the ups. In my limited experience, I tend to get caught in the trap of easing off and not making the downhills count.

Leave a Reply

