Run down

Amongst the many things I like about my coach is the sheer variety that he manages to inject into my training plan.  Like most plans, it basically consists of long runs, hill work, speed work and recovery runs, but there the similarity ends.

Long runs come in so many versions that I can’t think of the last time I caught myself thinking “Oh, not this again!”.  Flat, rolling, hilly, trail, road, work the ups, work the downs, work the lot, I can guarantee just two things about each session: it will be long and it won’t be dull.

It’s the same with the hill work, speed work and even the recovery runs.  There’s always something thrown in to keep me from falling into a rut.

Today’s longish run asked for a gentle pace except downhill, when I was to run as fast as possible.  Given the terrain (more muddy fun around Wimbledon Common), my speed was slightly limited by my confidence in my ability to run at full tilt* over uneven ground, but I am definitely getting better with practice.

I wonder what next week’s long run will bring?

*Don’t be fooled – I’m still definitely more tortoise than hare.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in juneathon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Run down

  1. TOTKat says:

    Love it! Running hard down hills is very much under-rated in training plans.

  2. If I play along with you being a tortoise just for a minute, then you must at least be one of those ones that you see on animal rescue programs with wheels… But without the prior horrific limb removal aspect, of course.

  3. plustenner says:

    if you are tortoise, I am slow tortoise!

  4. winsometahn says:

    Tortoise / Hare ….don’t forget who won!! 🙂

  5. shazruns says:

    Now I love a down, love tumbling down the hills, arms swinging in wildly almost out of control brings out my inner child

  6. RubySneakers says:

    Fast downhill? Eek! I can definitely understand the confidence thing. Good job with it, though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

