Banstead Woods Nature Trail

Today’s run called for some rolling trail, and after a little bit of thought, I decided to head to Banstead Woods.  Rather than loop round and round the parkrun course, I opted to head off on a footpath at random to see where it took me, but before long, I started to notice wooden posts with markers on them.  Being a curious soul, I started to follow the markings to see where they led*, and just under three miles later, I was back where I started, having completed the Banstead Woods Nature Trail.

It’s nice to know that if I ever get lost in the woods (something I’ve done on more than one occasion), there is a permanent trail of breadcrumbs to show me the way back to my car.

*I also follow flour arrows.  One of these days, they will lead me straight onto the sharpened blade of a mad axe murderer.  Until then, I shall enjoy the adventure.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in juneathon and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Banstead Woods Nature Trail

  1. Shudders at the thought! Think I’ll keep the vision of teddy bears picnic in my head

  2. I caught up with a flower trail markerer once. Fit chap. Over 70 he was. Early Sunday morning run club.
    I’d only followed it for about 4 miles at that point. With my luck, if I tried again it would end up being an ultra trail!

  3. Abradysis says:

    Flour arrows?

  4. shazruns says:

    Well done for following the arrows, not getting lost and not meeting an axe murderer, one day you might discover a gingerbread house.

  5. Andy says:

    Oh Great! Now I’ll be thinking about you running into a “mad axe murderer” every time you go out for a long run on your own 😦

  6. Sarah says:

    Eeek! Make sure you take a pointy stick with you next time to save you from murderers. This also works on vampires and people walking slowly just in front of you.

  7. plustenner says:

    my old stomping ground.. next time you head out that way, give me a shout?

  8. Pingback: Stand and deliver; your medal or your life! Banditry at the Thames Meander Half Marathon | abradypus

Leave a Reply

