Queen Elizabeth parkrun

If ever your training plan calls for two fast miles, do not try to run them as part of Queen Elizabeth parkrun the day after a 20 mile run.

If ever your training plan calls for twenty minutes of all out effort, then I can’t think of a better place to attempt it than as part of Queen Elizabeth parkrun the day after a 20 mile run.  Especially if you enlist the help of Kiernan to set you up with a pacer to use if it turns out that you are a running goddess (I wasn’t) and a fall back pacer to use if you turn out to be a bit of a wimp (I was).

Oh, and memo to self.  Do *not* warm up with a run through a grassy field.  Grassy fields are *not* your friend!

Grass-induced welts

Grass-induced welts

 

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in juneathon, parkrun and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Queen Elizabeth parkrun

  1. henniemavis says:

    Grass appears so unassuming… but there’s a reason for that common phrase “blades of grass” 😉 Ouch!

  2. henniemavis says:

    Damnit! Type-o! Please correct that for me? phrase, not phraseS… grrr. (I know you appreciate attention to detail.) Enjoying a catch-up read today on your blog. Been a busy start to summer, so I canned Juneathon, since I haven’t been too good at it last 2x. I sure miss you guys, tho!

  3. shazruns says:

    You must have sensitive skin or that was some gorilla grass!

  4. blackandtabby says:

    Grass in the style of ‘death by a thousand paper cuts’. Ow!

Leave a Reply

