Keswick parkrun

“Will you know anyone there?”

“I wouldn’t think so – Keswick’s fairly remote and I’ve run very few parkruns near there.”

“Oh – hello Tom!  Fancy meeting you here.”

A couple of weeks ago, I managed to wangle myself an invitation to the Lake District for this weekend and, in return for a little bit of driving, gave myself the perfect opportunity to sample the delights of the nearly-new Keswick parkrun.

And what delights they are!  The course, a trail out-and-back, is essentially flat and extremely beautiful.  There are wooden bridges, a gorgeous section running alongside the River Greta, and enough twists and turns to keep it interesting.

The old station, where the parkrun starts, provides shelter for kit and the Museum Café at Fitz Park serves ice cream, cakes, scones, bacon rolls, grilled cheese on sourdough to name but a few.

And just to make my day, it turned out that I did know some people there – parkrun really does make for a very, very small world.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in juneathon, parkrun and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Keswick parkrun

  1. plustenner says:

    sounds gorgeous!

  2. winsometahn says:

    This might just have to be my first Enhlish parkrun!

Leave a Reply

