Running for a reason

Did I go for my run because a day without running is a day without meaning?

No.

Did I go for my run because I am a dedicated athlete and I know that every time I run, I am one step closer to achieving my ambition?

No.

Did I go for my run because the good runners of Twitter goaded me into it?

No.

Did I go for my run because I couldn’t face telling my coach that I hadn’t?

No.

In fact, I had just finished updating my plan with the note “Skipped. Simply couldn’t be bothered. Sorry.” when I saw that someone had given me Kudos on Strava for yesterday’s “Recovery run the first”.  Which reminded me that today’s run was meant to be “Recovery run the second”.

I considered my options: I could change the title of yesterday’s run; I could accept that “Recovery run the first” would be stranded mournfully for all eternity waiting for its mate; or I could just get on out there and do my run.

I ran.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in excuses, mojo and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Running for a reason

  1. blackandtabby says:

    Oh the power of Strava!

  2. abradypus says:

    I know! If I hadn’t chosen that title, I’d have been perfectly happy bunking off.

  3. Aprilruns says:

    This is what makes you a Runner. Well done!

Leave a Reply

