Winter 100 – the blog post that wasn’t.

Gah.  There are so many posts that I want to write about Winter 100, that I find I can’t write any.

I could write a whole post about Andy Bailey, a man I spoke to in passing at a parkrun once, who has become a good enough friend that he was prepared to take two days off work and sacrifice a whole weekend to refill my water bottles, remind me to eat and generally look after me during the race.

I could write a whole post about James Elson, a man with the logistical skill to stage seemingly flawless events, and the interpersonal skills to persuade my inner sloth off the sofa by creating a training programme that is challenging and fun in equal measure.

I could write a post and a half about the Centurion Army, who embraced me from the moment I arrived in Goring to the moment I left, at every checkpoint and often (as many of them run as well as volunteer) on the route itself.  I don’t think I was ever more than an hour away from a “Good Job, Louise” and I spent a good chunk of my race feeling incredibly lucky to have such lovely chickens coming home to roost, and humming “somewhere in my youth or childhood…”

I could write a whole post comparing my experience at Thames Path 100 with my experience at Winter 100, or more specifically, comparing their aftermaths.  One week on from Thames Path, I could barely bend my knees.  Two days on from Winter 100, and I was pain-free and running up stairs without thinking.

I could write a whole post about the emotional rollercoaster of the last 12 months which has had some incredible highs (such as being part of the Race to the Stones team with some truly incredible women), and some incredible lows (such as DNFing at Thames Path).

I could write a whole post summarising the set of distances I’ve run this year.  5km (PB), 10km (PB), Half Marathon (PB), Marathon (tuuuuuuunnels), 50km (Mud!), 50 miles (PB), 100km (1st ever) and finally 100 miles (yay!).

I could write a whole post about my journey from non-runner to ultra-runner and how much of that journey has been inspired by Janathon, Janathoners, parkrun and parkrunners.

I could write a whole post describing the course, or the aid stations or the scenery (OK – I couldn’t really describe the scenery because that would require some observational skills) or my rationale for choosing my kit.  Or my training or the pain or the simply overwhelming level of support I’ve had from friends, family and virtual running buddies via Twitter and Facebook.

But that’s the thing.  There are so many blog posts I want to write that I can’t write any of them.  So instead, I will write the following.

I am a sloth, never happier than when on the sofa with the cat, but two of the proudest moments of my life have been earning the following two t-shirts, and the chances are that if you’re reading this, you have played a part in those achievements.  Thank you.

photo (55)

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in parkrun, running, ultra and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Winter 100 – the blog post that wasn’t.

  1. JovialGnome says:

    Brilliant blog, brilliant effort! 🙂

  2. Andy says:

    Stop it! I’m getting all weepy again…as I was when I saw the tweet Andy B. sent to say you’d completed the 100 miles.

  3. plustenner says:

    You have inspired me, every race your ‘only a parkrun to go’ is my mantra for the last 3 miles 🙂

  4. You are awesome! What a great post and some great achievements on your part. Well done! 🙂

  5. I could write a comment about how brilliant you are for having the determination to persevere.

    I could comment about your brilliant friends, your support, your organisation and willingness to give.

    I could comment on how I could never manage what you have (but I feel you would try to persuade me otherwise).

    I could comment about how I think you are less sloth and more lion – enjoying relaxing in the sun after a decent meal, sure, but when it’s time to hunt you go for it with fierce determination and rightfully share your achievements with pride*!

    *see what I did there 😉

    But instead I shall just comment – thanking you for sharing those ups and downs and how, although I have never met you, I feel like you have welcomed me in on your journey with you through these blog posts.

    Thank you.

    And bloody well done!!

  6. winsometahn says:

    That is the loveliest non-blog post blog post I’ve read. Congratulations on an amazing run. Your achievements have inspired me on many occasions.

  7. CeeJayKay says:

    sh*t, now i am sitting here is tears! just fabulous!

  8. Hels says:

    Now I’m weepy! You are incredible Louise, don’t forget it. It’s been incredible reading your blog from the beginning and seeing how you’ve gone from saying “a half marathon is a really long way” to a 100 mile superstar.

    Blown away.

  9. mia79gbr says:

    Well done Louise! You’re always an inspiration to me,

  10. kimivory says:

    So many inspiring achievements. Well done. Xxx

  11. Ron says:

    Well done Louise you achieve a lot since 26th Feb 2011 at Bedfont Lakes parkrun when we first cross paths.
    Ron

  12. Just getting round to reading the W100 race reports. Fantastic post, Louise, and a fantastic race at Winter 100. I remember chatting to you at NDW50 shortly after your TP100 DNF, so it was particularly great to see you out on the W100 course looking so strong and determined. What a wonderful year of running for you. Hopefully you are enjoying some well deserved sofa and cat time whilst reflecting on your amazing achievements. 🙂

  13. Pingback: Be Kind For A Month – Update | Cathy White

Leave a Reply

