Inspiring people – @totkat

After a solid year of training and my first 100 mile finish (had I mentioned that?), the only entry in my training plan for the next three weeks is “to be as active as I like while resisting the urge to do anything remotely resembling a hard effort”.

I did check on the wording, because if you give my inner sloth an inch it will take a mile, and “as active as I like” could well translate into nothing more strenuous than lifting a teacup and stroking the cat.

As I can’t see a stretch of sofa, tea and cat providing much blog fodder, I thought I’d introduce you to some of the people who inspire me.  People who have made the journey from non-athlete to athlete and who make anything seem possible.  People who face challenging situations with a pragmatism I can only dream of.  People who just will not give up.

First up is @totkat.  She’s done a whole heap of amazing stuff, most recently running the length of the Thames Path over six days without support “just because”.  Back in 2012, she was looking to do two half and two full ironmen in a single year when this happened.

She’ll tell you it was adrenaline rather than grit and probably foolish beyond belief.  Whatever the truth of the matter, Kate is one of the people who gets me out the door when my mojo is flagging, and keeps me hanging on in there when all I want to do is quit.  And as she’s a similar age, found sport at a similar time and fits her training in around a full-time job, she also offers me a glimpse of what I could achieve if I really put my mind to it.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in people, running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Inspiring people – @totkat

  1. ultraboycreates says:

    Funnily between yourself and the awesome Totkat you might be the inspiration I need not to give up running entirely. I was desperately sad after my failure at W100 but seeing your outstanding achievement in your 100 miler and Kate’s along the whole 184 of the Thames Path has shown what grit and determination can truly achieve. Please continue to inspire because it’s people like you that make it possible for people like me to ‘get out and try’ thanks.

  2. hels205 says:

    G’ah!!!! @totkat is one inspirational blogger!! WOW!!
    I like reading how people are doing, how they write and more. My own personal interesting news bulletin on the world that interests me.
    After feeling a bit amazed that I’ve actually gone and entered a 100 miler event for next year I’ve now got to knuckle down and do some proper training. This is the point where my mojo gets up and goes – Nope!! nope nope nope nope no no no NO!!!! I’m outa here!
    Blogs like this keep me and my mojo going. More please 😉

  3. Hels says:

    I read that blog. Head blown. What an inspiring (and slightly crazy) lady! Now THAT is hardcore.

  4. plustenner says:

    well, you are my inspiration Louise.. whenever I need that kick to get my lazy butt out there for a run, I remember you disappearing into the almost sunrise at the TP100, in so much pain, but absolutely determined

  5. totkat says:

    It’s a little chicken-and-egg I think. I think Louise is incredible, full of grit and determination; her Thames Path 100 race showed true single-mindedness to hit a goal no matter what. The only thing that stopped her was the clock, despite an incredibly painful knee and hip which reduced her to a very slow but un-stoppable stomping march. I know the pain of a similar knee condition and it stopped me in a heartbeat in a race before. She inspires me with her drive to finish a thing, and with the speed she’s picked up over the months of training. Amazing stuff!

    (Also, a great person to run with as she puts up with a whole lot of rubbishness. I only wish we’d been better at crewing at TP100… we’re learning!)

    • abradypus says:

      Nothing you could have done would have changed the outcome of TP100. Having now run a ‘good’ 100, I know that if I ever find myself in that situation again, I’m dropping. That said, I’m glad that I didn’t drop the first time, because it made W100 that much easier in comparison.

Leave a Reply

