Inspiring people – @donna_de

With Donna, it isn’t one race or one incident that inspires me, but the overall journey.  Reading about the juggling and imagination needed to train as an athlete with challenges (neoprene pants or knee broddling anyone?) puts fitting training in around work and commuting into perspective and the joy that she gets from every finish, be it a 10k race in London or an elite paratriathlon in Chicago, is infectious.

In the early stages of a race, I always feel like a running goddess who is going to set course records, smash my PB and generally amaze everyone with my marvelousness.  I have similar delusions about how beautifully and stoically I’d react if life threw challenges at me.

What I do know is that if that happens, I hope to be able to take a few leaves from Donna’s book and find ways to “make the most out of each moment, wherever I find myself, with a smile!

 

 

 

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in people, running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

