Inspiring people – @jameselsons

If at first you don’t succeed, try, try, try again.

James is a professional inspirer.  He is the Centurion Running race director and puts on six superb ultra-marathons each year to tempt runners to challenge themselves.  He is one of the Centurion coaches, encouraging his coaching clients to reach for seemingly unattainable goals, and usually reach them.  He is also an ultra-runner, and this year set his sights on completing the Bob Graham Round.

It didn’t all go to plan the first time, or indeed the second, but he didn’t let that phase him.  He sat down, regrouped and had another go.

As I said at the time: “Watching his journey has been eye-opening and inspiring in equal measure.  I hope that when the time comes for my next 100 mile attempt, I will cross the line in a blaze of glory and win the right to a buckle.  But if my race isn’t everything I’ve dreamed of, I hope that I will echo his tenacity, pick myself up, dust myself down, and look ahead to my next try, and my next and my next.”

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in people, running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Inspiring people – @jameselsons

  1. JovialGnome says:

    And he’s a really nice guy to boot! 🙂

  2. plustenner says:

    One of my all time favourite people 🙂

Leave a Reply

