Pyramids by moonlight

“SPEED: Pyramid speed session. 400m-800m-1200m-1600m-1200m-800m-400m with rests of 1.5 mins-2 mins-2.5 mins-3 mins-2.5 mins-2 mins, running the shorter distances at 5k effort and the longer ones closer to 10k effort.”

This is one of those sessions which scores very highly on the procrastination scale.  Today, it scored 135*.  The last time it cropped up, it scored so highly, the scale broke**.

Of course, once I’d started the run, I wondered quite what the problem had been.  It was blissfully quiet.  I was the only runner at the track, and I started just as the daylight began to fade.  Each lap was darker and darker, and by the last two intervals, it was too dark to see my Garmin, which meant I was running purely by feel.

The run itself was an exercise in precision pacing.  There is a grand total of 6 seconds per lap between my slower 10k pace and my faster 5k pace.  6 seconds.  Over 400m.  Hmmm.

Having avoided track sessions for years, I’m surprised how much I like them.  Sure, they lack a little something in the scenery department, but they more than make up for it with their stats.  Stats which demand accompanying graphs.  And who am I to deny them?

Stat attack!

Stat attack!

*Time between thinking “I’ll go for my run now” and taking the first step: 135 minutes.

**I skipped it.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in janathon and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Pyramids by moonlight

  1. plustenner says:

    you have inspired me! we have a track about a mile from work

  2. shazruns says:

    My brain would hurt doing that and my legs and lungs

  3. Melee says:

    It does sound like a scary workout!

  4. I’ve got plenty of those broken scales in my house.

    I used to have one speed for running and would go the same pace for 20 mins as for 4 hours. Things like parkrun have really helped vary that. But in all honesty, I think my pace for an hour’s run will still be the same as that for my marathon.

  5. ignace_s says:

    I like pyramid sessions, once over the top it suddenly seems a lot easier 🙂
    Should search a track nearby, I think it can really help to up the speed work…

  6. Lucy says:

    It makes my brain hurt to even think of a workout like that! Mind you we don’t have a track anywhere nearby , so any kind of repeats have to be done up and down a stretch of road leading to twitching curtains and strange looks

Leave a Reply

