A wolf in sheep’s clothing

“FARTLEK: 60 mins. Easy pace overall but I want you to run 10 x 2 minute blocks at screaming all out pace. Drop in where you wish, but end with 2 in the final 10 mins.”

Fartlek.  Speed play. Easy pace overall.

Play.  Easy.  When I skim read the instructions last week, I registered this as a relatively benign Friday evening session.

This morning, when I read the instructions in a little more detail, I registered the rest.  That one third of the run was at screaming all out pace.

Suddenly I wasn’t quite so keen on the idea.  Even when you take into account that I’m pretty much incapable of “screaming all out” it was still going to hurt.  I decided to have a cup of tea and a rest on the sofa to prepare myself.

And then I decided to see if anyone would be prepared to run in my place and send me their GPS data.  Alas not.

So I yielded to a nudge from Travelling Hopefully and set off.

I was right.  It wasn’t fun.  But it was satisfying.

In an eyeball-popping sort of way.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in janathon, running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A wolf in sheep’s clothing

  1. plustenner says:

    and did you scream 🙂

Leave a Reply

