Playing my joker

“Rest”

I strongly suspect that I’ll be playing my Jantastic joker this week, as I didn’t run yesterday and I swapped today’s rest for a thirty minute cycle around the block.

Around and around the block, in fact.  I’d intended to do an out and back, but the level crossing was down, so I looped around to the other level crossing…

…which was also down, so I cut back to the first…

…which was still down, so I looped round to the second…

…which was just going down (I must have missed it’s two minutes of openness), so I cut back to the first…

…which was remaining stubbornly shut, so I looped round to the second…

…which was showing no signs of reopening, so I cut back to the first…

…which was open!  I took my chances and headed for the other side, did a quick loop over the border and then headed home.

Thirty minutes of sitting-bone-agony on the most uncomfortable, concrete-filled saddle in the whole history of the world, done.

Either I need to cycle more, or I need to invest in a paddeder* saddle.

* Not a word.  Should be.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in janathon and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Playing my joker

  1. Sounds like a good ‘track’ session.

  2. That’s what they jokers are for. Still, you got out there and did something, so that’s the most important thing. 🙂

  3. hels205 says:

    Those barriers were messing with you!!
    Get a gel saddle designed for female tuberosities. Apparently us girls have bony protrusions on our hips that men don’t have. Making cycling saddles uncomfortable in the most personable way. A little gel padding in the right place and – well it’s still uncomfortable but far more comfy than the normal racing saddle that wants to slice n dice!!
    Good luck 😉

  4. rundelrun says:

    …. there’s a joker?? A Jantastic Joker??? When?… Who?… What?… WHERE’S MINE!!!!

    • abradypus says:

      You can use a joker to change your disciplines (if you’ve cycled instead of running) or to fill in half your workouts for a week (if you’ve been a slacker). Only one joker can be played in each month. You have two to play over the three months. Should be accessible from your profile/log workouts page.

  5. plustenner says:

    paddeder sounds good to me, scrabble here I come 🙂

  6. Mio Kontic says:

    Yes indeed, paddeder for scrabble! that’s 13 (I think there’s only 2 D’s so would have to use a blank), on a triple word it would be at least 39, probably a few more because there’s bound to be a double letter score or two in there, and then an extra 50 for using all 7 of your letters. Nice score, thanks abradypus 😀

    With regards to the looping, what if the level crossing barrier had been down when you were coming back??? That would have been torture I think!

Leave a Reply

