Invasion of the Beautifully Behaved and Impecably Trained Schoolgirls

“10′ w/u, in to 4 x 800m reps flat out with 800 easy in between.”

To quote a friend of mine, “Today is a good day”.  It started, as all good days should, with a new pair of trail shoes, meandered through a lazy brunch with said friend and then culminated with a track session.

The rain cleared just as I got there, and apparently I’ve been enough times that the staff are getting to know me, because I was greeted with “So what are today’s intervals?”.

As usual, the track was deserted when I arrived, and I ran my warm up and rep one in splendid isolation.  During rep two, a couple of women materialised and started putting out the hurdles, and midway through rep three, the green and white hordes descended.  As I passed by one of the groups, I heard their coach sending them off on a warm up lap, with instructions to “mind out for the runner who’s also training”.

Mind out they did.  Teeming though the track was, they left the inside lane clear and I finished my intervals without incident*.  Brownie points galore for Surbiton High School; may they win every competition this season.

Changing room, post invasion.

Changing room, post invasion.

*Other than being blown hither, thither and yon by the extremely windy wind of windiness.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in janathon, running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Invasion of the Beautifully Behaved and Impecably Trained Schoolgirls

  1. Shaz says:

    How familiar so few of them use the hooks opting to hang their gear on the floor!

  2. Andy says:

    “…a new pair of trail shoes…” ???

    It would appear you have so many running shoes these days that I’ve stopped noticing new ones unless you explicitly mention how shiny and new they are while sticking them under my nose!

    Mind you, given how observant I am at the best of times, it’s not too surprising 😘

  3. plustenner says:

    if it had been me the teacher would have told them to ‘watch out or the old lady trying to get around the track’ 🙂 that wind was rather blowy today

Leave a Reply

