Stand and deliver; your medal or your life! Banditry at the Thames Meander Half Marathon

Forgive me, run directors, for I have sinned.  Today, I bandit ran the Thames Meander Half Marathon and even stole some bling.

bandit bling 2

It wasn’t meant to be this way.  When I left the house this morning, my plan was to volunteer at Kingston parkrun*, grab a post parkrun hot chocolate with a friend, go for a two hour run on flat trail and then hang around to cheer home a few of the marathon runners (including my uber-crew from Winter 100, Andy Bailey).

The trouble came when I set off on my trail run.  You see, there were arrows.  Lots and lots of arrows.  And I am a complete sucker for arrows***.  So my plan to run for an hour, woohoo at a few of the faster runners, and then turn around and head back morphed into running to the half-marathon turn around point, turning round and running back.

As for the bling, I didn’t so much steal it as accept it from a runner who assured me that all he would do was pass it on to a friend, as he never keeps his race medals.****

After which, I decided to walk back out along the Thames Path as far as the Kingston parkrun turnaround point, cheer on the returning marathoners****** and then run back to the finish with Mr Bailey*******.

After all of which, it was back home to spend a few quality hours with my sofa and my cat, and to update my 2016 race plans to include at least one Hermes race.  Because from what I saw today, they look well worth a punt.

* Assuming that 2015 goes to plan**, I have about 16 fruitful training days left to go, after which I’ll be tapering, racing or recovering.  Between them, this weekend, next weekend and the weekend after will feature 91 miles of running (which at my pace will take between 15 and 18 hours), so it’s local parkruns only for the next few weeks.

** Eek.

*** Flour arrows.  Arrows on postsHash arrows.  Show me an arrow and I’ll follow it.

**** Apparently, there are people who run races for pleasure, not for shiny rewards they can hang over the bannister and never look at again*****

***** Baffling.  Truly baffling.  But if it means I get to add another medal to my bannister collection, then who am I to question it?

****** Go George (from Steyning Stinger).  Go Matthew (ooops – you’re Hollywood Star Matthew Macfadyen out for an innocent run, and not actually running the marathon).  Go Ellen (from Spitfire Scramble).  Go Windmilers (why am I so incapable of remembering names?).  Go Donna (parkrun tourist).  Go Lisa (also from Spitfire Scramble).

******* Who smashed his Jantastic target time, possibly in an attempt to get away from my inconsequential stream of chatter.

PS Congratulations to James Rees, who ran his 100th parkrun today********

******** Or possibly yesterday.  Saturday his time.  Friday my time.  Yesterday?  Today?  This week 🙂

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in parkrun, running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Stand and deliver; your medal or your life! Banditry at the Thames Meander Half Marathon

  1. plustenner says:

    I ran that half marathon last year and it was really good 🙂

  2. Andy says:

    I catch that bling on the bannister every time I go upstairs. It’s worse than having a set of _ing wind chimes!
    Mind you, add a few more, the bannister will collapse under the weight and the problem will solve itself.

    Also, you’ve excelled on the “*” front this time round. There are so may I lost count and kept reading the wrong footnote. Maybe I just need new glasses.

    Well done Andy B. 🙂

  3. JovialGnome says:

    Thanks for guiding and cheering me home and thanks t’other Andy, somewhat unexpectedly I rather enjoyed it!:-)

  4. totkat says:

    Young Lady! Naughty! But hey… sounds like you had a fun day and if someone was only gonna chuck the medal, why-ever not enjoy the donation :o)

  5. Cecilia says:

    Hahaha! I love hash marks, especially when they’re just stumbled upon! Glad to see I’m not the only one! 🙂

  6. Mio Kontic says:

    Just the other day our running club were showing off with photos of their racks. And one even showed his knob.

  7. Mio Kontic says:

    … where they hang their bling!!! Get your minds out of the gutter!

Leave a Reply

