Tired and emotional, pitiful and whiny

On paper, today’s run should have been a dream.  90 minutes of easy running in glorious sunshine on some flattish, and really quite pretty, trail*.

But when you start looking at your watch 18 minutes in; when you know you’re on mile 3-and-a-lot but turn out to only be on mile 2-and-a-bit; when every bus stop becomes an exercise in willpower; when you will every traffic light to be against you so you have an excuse to pause, you wonder whether it’s a dream or a nightmare.

The stupid thing is that there was nothing actually wrong.  My feet didn’t hurt, my legs were fine, my pace was solid, my form was reasonable.  I was just very, very tired, the cumulative effect of 6 days of peak training.  Yes.  6 whole days in a row.  How people manage run streaks that run into years baffles me.  After 6 days, I’m done.  Tomorrow, I rest.  You can send wild horses, a pack of wolves, or even Mr Motivator with a cupcake on a string but I am not budging from my sofa.

*Trail more in name than in fact.  It turned out to be about 90% tarmac.  Which I should have known, but had forgotten.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tired and emotional, pitiful and whiny

  1. plustenner says:

    remember the 7th day is a day of rest 🙂 🙂 you well deserve it xx

  2. Hi Louise
    Just be careful that you are not overdoing it. Reading this I am reminded of how I felt when training for my second ironman in 1994/95. I ended up way over trained and it took many years to fully recover.
    Richard

  3. mia79gbr says:

    Some days are not long run days. x

  4. Helen says:

    Runstreak people baffle me.

    Sometimes, you just don’t feel it. And that’s ok. You’re still awesome.

Leave a Reply

