Under orders

My evil sister, who never runs anywhere, has been complaining about my lack of blogging.

It’s true.  I’ve been very slack.  I’ve failed miserably to blog about my last three parkruns (Frimley Lodge*, Bognor Regis**, and Bournemouth***).  I didn’t blog about the South Downs Way 50, which saw the men’s course record smashed by Victor Mound in a mind-bogglingly swift 5 hours and 53 minutes****  and then saw the final runner come through with a mere 9 seconds to spare before the cut off.  My blog about Paris Marathon was brief*****, and I’m still in denial about Thames Path 100 next month******.

Perhaps I should just tell her that blogging requires the creative muse to strike and cannot be done on command.  She’s bound to buy that, isn’t she?

 

* on the day that Darren Wood became the first parkrunner to join the 500 club and Andy Bailey finally joined the Cowell Club

** never again

*** a 247 mile round trip

**** for 50 miles.  With about 5,700 feet of elevation.

***** Imagine trying to run through Waterloo station at rush hour then add lots of noise, a shed-load of banana skins, crank up the heat and make the experience last for over 4 hours.  If that’s your idea of heaven, you’ll love it.  If the idea makes your skin crawl, the race may not be for you.

****** It’s April.  The race isn’t until May.  There’s plenty of time******* to blog about it yet.

******* 10 days.

 

 

 

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Under orders

  1. Abradysis says:

    Evil sister is appeased 🙂

  2. Abradysis says:

    Great first line by the way 🙂

  3. When I see these posts with lots of ******* asterisks, I like to think that you are using ******* colourful language (as my mum would put it)

  4. Richard says:

    10 days. Time to start your taper.
    Although I’m doing the Reverse London Marathon this weekend if you want one last long run. Starts every 30 minutes from 2am at St Jame’s Park and follows the marathon route back to the start with all runners aiming to finish together at 8am.

  5. hels205 says:

    Perfect description of Paris. Tick – off the list of things to do before I finally find that bucket and kick it!! Gently 😉

Leave a Reply

