Sunshine and swearing

“Rest”

My training plan features two types of rest day.  “Rest” and “Total Rest”.  I queried it once and was told that they meant the same thing but that some people (not me) interpreted “Rest” as “Rest from running, but by all means go and do sprint intervals on the bike before hiking up a great big hill” and so needed “Total Rest” for emphasis.

Which may mean that I’m in trouble, because when I looked at the weather forecast and the logistics of getting to my exam, I decided that cycling in the glorious sunshine would be far more enjoyable than sweltering on the buses and tubes.

So my rest day went something like this:

  • Wake up at 4am fretting.  Swear.  Read for a bit.  Go back to sleep.
  • Be woken by the alarm.  Swear.  Doze for a bit.  Drag myself out of bed.
  • Do some last minute revision.  Swear.  Panic.  Eat breakfast.  Print out the cycle route.
  • Cycle into central London.  Swear at appalling lack of cycling infrastructure while basking in the sunshine and enjoying the feel of the breeze on my face.
  • Lock up bike.  Change.  Head for LouLou’s café to meet the lovely V.  Enjoy a leisurely drink and a wander though some gardens.
  • Join the looooooong queue for the loos.  Check watch nervously.  Fret.  Start modelling the queue*.  Make it into the exam room with minute to spare.  Find desk.  Take deep breath.
  • Open question paper.  Breeze through exam scoring full marks on every question**.  Feel no need to swear at all***.  Admire the rocks of the people sitting next to me****.  Hand in paper.  Leave exam room.
  • Join the looooooong queue for the loos.  Change.  Head to bike.  Set off.  Realise I’d forgotten to start my garmin.  Wait an hour for it to find a satellite.  Resist the urge to swear at it for being so slow*****.
  • Cycle out of central London.  Swear at appalling lack of cycling infrastructure while basking in the sunshine and enjoying the feel of the breeze on my face.  Get overtaken by every other cyclist on the planet and more than a handful of runners.
  • Feed the cat.  Feed myself.  Slump on sofa.

* M/M/3.  Though the randomness of the arrivals is highly suspect.

** A lie.

*** Another lie.

**** Not a euphemism.  They were geology students and identifying rocks was part of their exam.

***** Also a lie.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in juneathon and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sunshine and swearing

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    Haaahahaaaahaaa!!!! Love you! Needed a chuckle tonight after a really crap, painful, intense yoga class that saw me swearing so much in my head I left with a headache from hell!!!! Thank you, giggled and headache gone xxxmwahxxx

  2. plustenner says:

    you are brave cycling into London 😊

  3. Sam says:

    Sometimes it is not just right to swear it is fully required!

Leave a Reply

