Hatfield Forest parkrun

“Rest”

Three rest days in one week.  It must be taper time!

30th May – Hatfield Forest parkrun #11

I couldn’t really have asked for a better parkrunday.  The setting is gorgeous, the course is a gently undulating, single lap affair, the ED is an extremely welcoming reformed tourist, the weather was superb (the parkrun weather fairies had not only banished the rain, but also conjured up some glorious sunshine), the café is nice (though the seating is mainly outdoors, so it may not be quite so enjoyable in Winter), and the company was superb.

The only fly in the ointment was that my training plan called for a HARD effort, so rather than pootling round and enjoying the scenery, I spent 5 km desperately trying to hold on to Jools (who had kindly agreed to act as a pacer) and attempting to quash the urge to ease up.

It even comes complete with a 1km warm up and cool down from the car park to and from the start.  What more could a parkrunner need?

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in juneathon, parkrun and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hatfield Forest parkrun

  1. mercyjm says:

    Keep going with the reviews, I am making a list…

  2. shazruns says:

    If I still lived in Essex this one would be on my radar, now it will be on my visiting the parents for the weekend radar, sounds lovely except for the ‘hard effort’

  3. Mio Kontic says:

    I wanted to put in a general post, but I don’t know where. So as this is the latest post in your blog I figured it’s a good a place as any, albeit off topic.

    You know what I like most about this blog? No wait, the second most because the blog itself is just simply the best. Oh but hang on, the third best; the comments deserve to be second best as some of them are very good too. No, wait, I’m wrong – without what I thought I liked most about this blog and comments, the whole thing simply wouldn’t be as good as it is, and I almost certainly for sure wouldn’t come back to read it. Clear as mud?

    So, what I like most about this blog is how well it is written. Grammar, punctuation, spelling – all first class making the whole thing so readable! There is no “your” instead of “you’re”, no “there” instead of “they’re”, no “of” instead of “have”, blah-de-blah-de-blah… the list is near endless! And no 23-line posts with not one single mark of punctuation or capital letter, turning my face purple as I try to read it all in one breath… and make sense of it!

    So congrats (some abbreviations are ok) to abradypus on a superbly written blog, and to the many commenters for similarly superbly written comments. A pleasure to read, enjoy, and most definitely laugh!

Leave a Reply

