Still an onion of idiocy

“Very easy Park Run if you like.  Otherwise Rest.”

I thought I was being so sensible.  On Wednesday, as my knee was still niggling, I thought I’d remove all temptation and I signed up to volunteer at Queen Elizabeth parkrun.  I spent Thursday and Friday patting myself on the back and feeling smug…

… and then today, I decided to follow up my parkrun volunteering with a gentle amble along the South Downs Way to cheer on a few marathon runners.  I had it all planned.  I’d pootle out along the path until I met the runners, find somewhere suitable to sit, go woohoo for a while and then amble back.

Only there is nowhere to sit.  That section of the South Downs Way has absolutely no benches, no viewpoints and no grassy verges.  It’s nettles and brambles all the way to Harting Downs.

So my short and gentle pootle morphed into an hour of power hiking (I decided I needed to practise my arm swinging), and another couple of miles of ambling until I eventually found a patch of grass with a good view of the oncoming runners…

… and then my amble back morphed into another power hike as I started to overhaul some of the more exhausted marathon runners.

My knee is threatening to nail my feet to the floor if I don’t obey tomorrow’s instruction to rest, and I am reminded that I am, still, an onion of idiocy.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in juneathon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Still an onion of idiocy

  1. IAmKat says:

    Please rest! We want you whole for NDW100

  2. totkat says:

    Can you wear shoes that make it hard to do anything foolish? Flip-flops perhaps? Hard to power hike in flip-flops…

  3. blackandtabby says:

    More baked beans needed I think

  4. Pingback: The picture of G Louise A | abradypus

Leave a Reply

