Worsley Woods parkrun

“I just don’t get the whole tourist thing. Stay close to home, make friends and be part of a community”

On Saturday, I visited Worsley Woods parkrun.  It was lovely, but as it’s a fair distance from home, it is probably the only time that I will ever run out along its disused railway line, walk up its short flights of steps, dance around its woodland loop and enjoy its long, ever-so-slightly-downhill finishing straight.  Never again will I take advantage of its free car park or enjoy a leisurely post-parkrun breakfast in the beer garden by the canal.

I should just have stayed at home, where I could make friends and be part of a community.

Except that then I might never have put a face to @RunningGaynor or met Andrea, both Worsley Woods locals.  I might not have mentioned to @knittingpenguin that I was going to be in her neck of the woods and bagged myself some very enjoyable company for both the run and the post-parkrun breakfast.  And I might not have caught up with Not The Ron Hill, one of the first parkrunners I ever put a name to, and heard about the way that Clermont Waterfront parkrun in Florida is starting to become part of many tourists’ itineraries.

The wonderful thing about parkrun is that whether you stay at home or not, you’re pretty much guaranteed to make friends and be part of its community.  And if you throw in a little tourism, you’ll get all that with the added bonus of incredible courses in places you never knew existed.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in parkrun, running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Worsley Woods parkrun

  1. plustenner says:

    was worth it even just to catch up with knittingpenguin – a truly lovely lady

Leave a Reply

