WHW: Altnafeadh to Kinlochleven

The section from Altnafeadh to Kinlochleven may only be about seven miles long, but it starts with the Devil’s Staircase, which takes you up to the highest point of the trail, crosses some exposed terrain, and then plunges down into Kinlochleven.  All that elevation gain squandered on one loooong winding road.

Of course, seven miles would barely be worth pulling my trainers on for, so I quashed my fleeting thought about getting a taxi from the hotel back to the way and ran back up the glen along the magical mystery paths to rejoin the way where I’d broken off yesterday.

Path?  What path?  

As I stared up at the Devil’s Staircase, I noticed that there were two peaks on either side which looked to be pretty much on a level with the top of the ridge.  I looked at my map.  There they were, Beinn Bheag and Stob Mhic Mhartuin, both easily accessible from the top with what looked like minimal extra climbing.  It had to be done!

View of Blackwater reservoir from Beinn Bheag

 

View of Blackwater reservoir from Stob Mhic Mhartuin

 

View from Stob Mhic Mhartuin back down towards the road

 

With both peaks bagged, I picked my way back down to the path, thanked the weather gods for sending mild weather as I crossed the exposed section, and then relaxed into the fun run down to Kinlochleven. 

Looks like someone else thought it was fun too.

 

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

