Strathclyde parkrun – the kindness of strangers

After a fortnight in Scotland staying at a mixture of hotels, b&bs and hostels, my coping-with-the-unfamiliar reserves were running a little low.  Fortunately, help was at hand in the guise of Winsome Tahn, who had offered me a bed for my last night in Scotland.

She met me at the station, fed me, and made me feel at home, and then, in the morning, chauffeured me to Strathclyde parkrun*, talked me round the course, drove me back to hers for a shower and a meal and then dropped me off at Glasgow Central Station in time for my train back to London.

It may be slightly weird to accept the offer of a bed from a complete stranger** but, like most of the people I’ve met first through their blogs, Winsome Tahn was lovely, and I am very, very grateful for her hospitality.

* Spookily similar to Edinburgh parkrun.  Flat, tarmac, small headed lollipop with water on one side of the course, though in Strathclyde’s case, the water is to your right on the way out and left on the way back, and is a loch rather than a firth.

** You can read her version of events here.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

