Pre-race nerves are here / I really must make a list / And start my packing

“Pretty pretty please
Dear abradypus may I
Have more blogs to read?” – Abradysis

My training is done
I’m now consumed with thoughts of
Autumn one hundred

Three of four are done
Thames Path, South Downs and North Downs
One more for the slam

Pre-race nerves run high
Stress dreams and phantom niggles
Are making me fret.

One more taper run
But what if I fall over
And twist my ankle?

Would it be better
To skip the last run and stay
Safe on the sofa?

I have all the kit
But where in the house is it?
I must dig it out.

And what shall I eat?
A shopping list is required
Then off to Tesco*

My crew is sorted
The fabulous Andy B
I am in safe hands.

Three sleeps to race day
Then leave Goring Aid three times…
… I really must pack.

* Or maybe Co-op
Or Waitrose would be better
Or even all three.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Pre-race nerves are here / I really must make a list / And start my packing

  1. mia79gbr says:

    See you on the start line …!

  2. Have a good run, you!
    And if you can’t run it all…
    …have a good hike, you!

  3. plustenner says:

    See you at Reading!! You can do it, you will do it xx

  4. abradysis says:

    I’ve been out-haikued
    I concede defeat to you
    O wonderful sloth

  5. winsometahn says:

    You will be fine, in fact you will be great. Best wishes and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

