The universe has spoken

“30 mins easy, then 3 x 800s on the flat at FULL BORE, 3 x 800s easy in between.”

I’m not officially back on plan until Monday, but to find out if I was ready I mocked up two weeks of something that looks vaguely like training to see whether my head was ready to buckle back down.

Today’s planned session fell firmly into the “to be done only if I can’t think of a single valid excuse not to skip it” category.  Unfortunately, my energy levels are fine, I don’t have a single niggle or twinge, and my diary was free of run-threatening commitments.  I scanned social media looking for inspiration.  Oooh!  Wednesday Night Head Torch Run in Caterham.  Ten miles of trail fun with ultra runners.  I breathed a sigh of relief, checked routes and estimated journey times and popped my head torch on charge.

By 5:15pm, I was in the car. 20 minutes later, when I’d moved a mere 2 miles, I turned back towards home.  25 minutes after that, having sat and waited for not one, not two, but three trains at the local level crossing, I sat in the hallway and grumbled.

And then I took the universe’s hint and hauled myself out the door to run 3 miles easy, then 3 x 0.5 miles on the flat at something approaching FULL BORE with 3 x 0.5 miles easy in between.

Blooming universe.

 

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

