A weight off my mind

I have two goal races in my calendar at the moment, Seville marathon and Lakeland 100, and I’ve been stressing about both of them.  I’ve been fretting about Seville because of an arbitrary sub-4hr time goal, achievable in theory and very much wanted.  I’ve been worrying about Lakeland 100 because the next official recce weekend is at the end of January, and will call for night time running on unfamiliar, and very possibly icy, terrain.  Combine these with the upheaval caused by a new job and a long commute, and they’ve begun to feel like burdens rather than treats, and where’s the fun in that?

Nowhere, that’s where.  So I’ve deferred my sub-4 plans, re-cast Seville as a lower-pressure PB attempt and cancelled my trip to the Lakes, and in one fell swoop, I’m looking forward to the next four weeks…

…and wondering how close to a four hour marathon I can get.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in running, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A weight off my mind

  1. plustenner says:

    You will smash it!

  2. Don’t reply to this if will just increase stresses again… But out of interest, what is the ‘lesser PB attempt’ goal time?

Leave a Reply

