Have you seen my?

Have you seen my bike key?  It has to be around here somewhere!  I definitely had it this morning when I locked up my bike and I thought I’d put it in my bag, but I’ve emptied my bag and I can’t see it anywhere!  No, it’s not in my jacket pocket, I’ve looked there.  And my trouser pocket.  I could have dropped it on the ground by my bike, my hands were quite chilly, but I’ve checked the area and can’t see it.  It’s not on the pavement between my bike and the college, or in the hall, or in the corridor to my office.  I’ve looked in the washroom where I got changed, and can’t see it there.  It’s not on my desk.  I’ve checked that it didn’t get scooped up with my paperwork and locked away in the drawer, or bundled in with my clothes into the dry bag.

Where on earth is it?  Keys don’t vanish into thin air.  I’ve got to find it or I can’t get home.  Well, I can, but then my bike has to stay here all weekend, and I don’t fancy my chances of finding it here on Monday morning.  Besides, I lost the spare key to the bike lock ages ago, so even if it is here I won’t be able to unlock it.  Yes, I suppose someone could have handed it in at reception, but they’d have emailed around wouldn’t they?  I’ll check my office one last time and then I’m giving up and going home.

Desk?  No.  Drawers?  No.  Bag?  No.  Dry bag?  No.  Kit bag?  No.

Oh, there it is, under my chair.  How on earth did it end up there?

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in cycling, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Have you seen my?

  1. totkat says:

    Worst feeling. Along with getting home to realise your keys are hanging from the lock on your desk drawer. Thank god you found it!

  2. plustenner says:

    Glad you found it 😊

Leave a Reply

