Finsbury parkrun

A looming OU deadline meant staying relatively close to home again this parkrunday, new road shoes called for tarmac and I fancied some company.  Luckily for me, Finsbury Park is a mere 70 minute trip from home, tarmac barring the last 20 or so metres and conveniently close to the house of a friend I haven’t seen for years.

It’s a parkrun I’ve run before, but it’s been nearly 3 years since I was last there, and I was struck by how much it has changed.  True, the volunteers wait until 8:59 to don their hi-viz jackets and the finish funnel is only set up after the runners have been sent on their way, so it still has a touch of a “Has it been cancelled?  Am I in the right place?” feel to it, but the first-timers briefing specifically invites newcomers to the café afterwards and the café buzzed with parkrunners for a good hour after the parkrun had finished.

A pretty parkrun, a chat with a parkrunner on tour from Widnes, a chance encounter with a familiar ultra-running face, and a catch up over a cuppa with my friend.  Another one for the “fabulous parkrunday” file.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in parkrun, running, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finsbury parkrun

  1. shazruns says:

    No mad dash to the finish line to drop bags this time then?

Leave a Reply

