The memory retention of a flea

I’ve been struggling to hit any of my pace targets over the last month or so, but apparently having a rest day and removing some of my run-related stresses has worked miracles.

Today’s run included 10 miles at sub 9 minute mile pace and I was absolutely nailing it for the first 8 and just about hanging on for the ninth.  Then, having just missed out on an 8:xx, I tried to pick up the pace again for the final tempo mile.  About a minute in, I looked at my watch and was horrified to see my lap pace was 10:xx.  I knew I’d lost a bit of pace on a corner, but a over a minute a mile!  What on earth?  I checked my form, tried once again to pick it up and eventually had to settle for a rather disappointing 9:22.

splits

In an attempt to understand what had happened, I pored over my stats.  Heart rate would suggest that I hadn’t slacked off, and there was no elevation to explain the drop off.  I was baffled, until I zoomed in on the GPS trace…

gps glitch

…which reminded me that in my desperation to get home, I’d opted for the shortest available route, running through several buildings and metal fences in the process.  How silly of me to have forgotten.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in running, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The memory retention of a flea

  1. plustenner says:

    Great run! 9:22 on the 10th mile is definitely not disappointing 😃

Leave a Reply

