Golders Green Glee

You know those runs which you really don’t want to do, make yourself start and then really enjoy?  Tonight’s run was one of them. I very nearly skipped it. A couple of glitches at work meant that I was an hour late leaving, and the thought of adding an hour onto my home time appealed not one teeny tiny bit.  Filling that hour with a hill session appealed even less.  I spoke to my coach*.

Me: Work went pearshaped. I’m ditching my run in favour of getting home in time to eat before bed-time.

Him: OK.

Me: Hmmm.  I really didn’t think you’d go for that.  I mean, I thought at least you’d suggest I do a 30 min easy. Marginal gains and all that. Come to think of it, I could do a 30 min easy.  At least that way I could write “Modified” rather than “Skipped”.  And I suppose there’s an outside chance that once I’ve started I’ll change my mind about doing the hill session, so I could catch the bus to Golders Green as I’d planned and run at least the warm up.  Take it from there.

I got changed, grabbed my stuff and headed for the bus*** …

…and by the end of my warm up, found it surprisingly easy to opt for the hills rather than the easy.  Two more stations added to my collection**** and my hill session done.

* In my head.  But I suspect that’s pretty much how the conversation would have gone, as he’s cottoned on to the fact that giving me permission to skip a session and leaving it to my conscience** is far more likely to get me out the door than saying “you must!”

** Especially since he’s drummed the phrase “marginal gains” into me.

*** I could have caught the tube two stops but the bus was easier.  It still counts as running from a Northern Line Station even if I never actually went in.  That’s what I’m telling myself anyway.

**** I finished up at Belsize Park.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Golders Green Glee

  1. plustenner says:

    I hope you thought it in James’s voice 😃

Leave a Reply

