Tring parkrun and Wendover Woods 50

I must not enter Wendover Woods 50.
I must not enter Wendover Woods 50.
I must not enter Wendover Woods 50.
I must not enter Wendover Woods 50.

Yesterday, I headed to the track to run an all out 5k.  One mile in, when I hadn’t hit my target pace on a single lap, I threw my toys out of the pram and stopped, setting myself up for a day long self-pity party because I was not only slow but also a pathetic wimp with no go-hard whatsoever.

At 8:30am this morning, I sat in my car looking at the weather forecast and predicted another dreadful couple of runs.

How wrong can one person be?

Within a minute of arriving at the start of Tring parkrun, I’d spotted the ever-so-lovely Kat and Jools, and by the time I left, I’d enjoyed the glorious running goddess down, spotted both the pagoda and the obelisk, eaten two easter eggs* and remembered why I’d added Tring to my “must revisit” list.

20 minutes later, I was parking up at Wendover Woods for a second crack at the WW50 course.  Unlike last time, when I was lucky enough to be shown around by the local gurus, this time I was on my own, with only an etrex to guide me.  An etrex I had never used in earnest, but need to learn to love by this time next week when I head up to the lakes for another of the Lakeland 100 recce days.

Two and a half hours later, after a slightly rocky start, I had not only learned to love my etrex, I’d also fallen even more in like with the WW50 course.  It’s a tough ten mile loop, but it’s a huge amount of fun, and I suspect that the Tring/WW50 combo might feature again in the run up to Lakeland.  I just hope I can resist the urge to sign up for the real thing.

* Disclaimer: mini eggs

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in parkrun, running, ultra, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tring parkrun and Wendover Woods 50

  1. plustenner says:

    me bad, but what is an extrex?

  2. IAmKat says:

    It was lovely to see you!
    If you fancy company on your next Tring/Wendover double then give us a shout as Jools is always looking for hills to run.
    You can leave me breadcrumbs and I’ll follow you on my Fenix if I can’t keep up 😄
    Glad you’re getting the handgof the etrex too 👍

  3. I keep dithering about Tring parkrun when I’m staying with my parents. I must pull myself together!

Leave a Reply

