Best guest blog ever: Okanagan parkrun (by @abradysis)

When my evil twin*, abradypus, posted a Facebook link to the new Canadian parkruns, and tagged me in it, my heart sank. I was going to have to get up off my couch and drive an hour to do a parkrun, and I only had 11 days to psych myself up. I have managed to avoid them so far, citing a lack of local runs to join, but it looked like that excuse was off the table. An hour is no barrier to a parkrun tourist like she-who-thinks-nothing-of flying-off-to-Iceland-or-Poland-or Canada-for-a-quick-jaunt-around-a-park.

I am not a runner, so I told her I would walk it. I checked out the times of the last finishers on various parkruns, and decided that I might be able to keep up, and started the couch to 5k training plan. I trotted off on week one, only to realize that at the end of the 30 mins, I had only gone 3.1k. New plan required. For week 2, I finished the podcast, then walked to make up the 5k. 53 minutes. I then tried doing 2 podcasts back to back, with the 90 sec run/ 2 min walk cycles, and managed to get down to 46 mins. Still slowest than the last finishers. Hmmm. Checked the website, it says you can join in whatever your pace. I hope they know that I’m taking that to heart.

I turned up in plenty of time, and parked at the finish car park. I walked over to the race start and was there in plenty of time. I chatted to someone else who seemed to be there by herself, while looking around at the collection of very experienced fit people with lots of kit, and tried to remind myself that I knew I could make it round 5k. At 9am, the introductions started. 1st Canadian park run, very exciting, people from parkrun UK as well as the local organisers.

The start is under a bridge, for when it rains. No rain today however. 22 degrees, glorious sunshine. The route is on a gravel path along the side of Mission Creek, and there is plenty of shade, which is just as well. After going under the second bridge, I started to see people coming back towards me, so I was hopeful of reaching the turnaround spot, but it seemed very far away. On the way back, the route crosses to the other side, and other than the climb up and over one bridge, and under another, the path is more-or-less flat.

I don’t know my official time, because it hasn’t been posted yet, but I’m sure its a PB 🙂

abradysis

*Not actually my twin. I’m 19 months older than her. She is, however, Evil.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in parkrun and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Best guest blog ever: Okanagan parkrun (by @abradysis)

  1. shazruns says:

    Oh well done sis. I can’t wait to come over and give it a go! That’s next years summer hols planned!

  2. Norm says:

    Despite the dozens of parkruns within an hour of me, I’m quite envious of your proximity to that one. It may be time to look at flights and my current air miles balance…

    P.S. Lovely guest post, I look forward to your reviews of the other Canadian parkruns as they start.

  3. Great stuff. Well done abradysis.

  4. Andy says:

    Where are the run pics?

  5. Pingback: Okanagan parkrun | abradypus

Leave a Reply

