Sorry, not sorry

“How’s your ankle?”

“Seems fine.  Didn’t mutter at all during last night’s head torch run on the common.”

My physio looked at me.

“Last night’s what?”

I shuffled my feet and tried to look  innocent.

“Last night’s head torch run on the common.”

I gathered during the ensuing silence that confessing to being a little slack with my physio exercises one week and throwing in mention of night time trail running the next was not winning me physiotherapy brownie points.  But after a stressful couple of weeks and a disastrous speed session the day before, my soul had needed solace and my club’s annual head torch run had proved impossible to resist.

If better compliance with my physio schedule is what it takes to make night time trail running a lower risk activity, then better compliance it will be.

Starting tomorrow.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in injury, running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

