No excuses

One of the difficult things about being a sloth is judging what does and does not constitute a valid reason not to run, but after years of bouncing excuses off my coach, my friends and the twittersphere, I’m beginning to sense a pattern.

Not valid: “I’ve had a logistically trying week and just need to curl up on the sofa, so I’m not running at all this Sunday.”
Valid: “I’ve had a logistically trying week so I’m going out for the first 30 minutes of my run and will see how I feel after that.”

Not valid: “I’ve forgotten to bring my sports bra, so I’m skipping the run.”
Valid: “I’ve forgotten to bring my sports bra but I’m going to run around the block to see whether this Heath Robinson-esque arrangement with a  buff and my running pack will be a reasonable substitute.”

Not valid: “All my kit is dirty, so I’m staying on the sofa with the cat.”
Valid: “All my kit is dirty, but I’ll see how much of the session I can complete before the fumes kill me.”

Not valid: “The house is too cold to undress in, so I’m huddling under the duvet reading a book.”
Valid: “I was so exhausted by the star jumps I did to warm up after changing in an ice-cold house that I only managed a short 30 minute recovery run.”

Not valid: “I’ve read that it’s unwise to run with a cough.”
Valid: “I eased off on the effort levels and made sure I had bail out options but went for a run to see how my lungs reacted.”

Valid: “I twisted my ankle and it’s the size of a party balloon.”
Valid: “My knees don’t bend.”
Valid: “No run.  Couldn’t be bothered.”*

* Hmmm.

 

 

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to No excuses

  1. ultraboycreates says:

    I like the last excuse, I use that one myself

  2. mercyjm says:

    My cat is sleeping on me and will be psychologically disturbed for years if I move him.
    My cat is sleeping on me and is just too heavy for me to move if I want to have enough energy to run.
    My cat is sleeping on me and zzzzz….

Leave a Reply

