Dulwich parkrun

Despite the god of traffic lights’ best efforts, I arrived at Dulwich parkrun before half past eight.  There was a void where the finish funnel lives.  No flag, no hi-viz, no barrier tape… just an empty bench.  I locked my bike up on the nearby railings and returned.  Still empty.  I sat down, changed from my cycling kit into my running kit and dug out my mobile phone.  Still deserted.  I checked facebook – no cancellation notice – and twitter – ditto – making a mental catalogue of parkruns within spitting distance, just in case*.

And then he came, Run Director Hayden Judd, kit in hand.  Within minutes the flag and the finishing funnel were in place, and the wasteland around the bench was awash with parkrunners.

Memos to self:

  • next time, have an extra 15 minutes in bed and save yourself some heartache
  • update your sacrifices to the god of traffic lights.

 

* I wouldn’t usually be so twitchy but Storm Doris had caused a number of parkruns to cancel due to fallen trees and other obstacles.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in parkrun, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dulwich parkrun

  1. Ha… You don’t seem to be able to get the balance right…. Remember this post? https://abradypus.wordpress.com/2016/12/31/dulwich-parkrun/ …incidentally it also mentions sacrifices to traffic light gods

Leave a Reply

