Arethusa mile

I may have made a tactical error.  Running an Arethusa mile has been a velleity* of mine for a while and after my Strava timeline exploded with mile races last weekend, I decided to add it into the notes column on my training plan.

Knowing me as he does, my long-suffering coach queried my cryptic “(Arethusa mile)” as he assumed that the one thing it definitely wouldn’t be was a mile race.  I confirmed that it was indeed a mile race, and added that it was both local and weekly…

…and when I next looked at my plan I saw that it was included not once, not twice, but three times.  Which given that I was only looking at the new three week block meant it was in every week.  Eek.

I texted a friend to ask for some information.

“When?  Where?  How?”**
“Then.  There.  Like that (with added bug spray because the midges are fierce)”.

I told everyone I knew that I was going to give me no chance to back out.

I went***.  It was lovely****.  I’ll be back*****.

 

* A mere wish, unaccompanied by effort to obtain.

** These were the questions I asked, but what I really wanted to know was “What are the unspoken rules?  How will I know what to do?  Will I stick out like a sore thumb?  Will everyone look at me witheringly for daring to presume that I am welcome at a race for fast athletes?”******

*** Stupidly early.  I mean, stupidly.  I left two hours for a twenty minute journey and a fifteen minute warm up.  I was nervous.

**** The mile itself hurt rather a lot and the uncontrollable coughing afterwards was distinctly unpleasant, but the chatting to familiar faces beforehand was lovely.

***** If I’m allowed.  My mostly dormant competitive streak came out and I may or may not have elbowed two people out of the way as I dipped for the line.

****** The usual runner ones.  Someone (or rather several someones) will tell you.  No you won’t.  Of course not, don’t be daft.

 

 

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

